Sūrya Gāyatrī

Gāyatrī is the name of a poetical meter (çhanda) that contains three lines of eight syllables each.

bhūr bhuva sva: alluding to the first three of seven vyahritis respectively representing physical plane (bhūr loka), astral plane (bhuva loka), and celestial plane (sva loka), which may be reached in meditation by a yogi

auṃ: pranava (The eternal vibration that binds the physical plane, astral plane, and celestial plane)

tat savitur vareṇya: that, the One God (tat), solar (savitā), venerable (vareṇya)

bhargo devasya dhīmahi: Let us meditate (dhīmahi) upon the effulgence (bhargo) of the deity (deva)

dhiyo yo na pračodayāt: may our wisdom (dhiya), who (ya), of us (na), be inspired (pračodayāt)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s